Good Food Guide Ice A Cake competition 1992

In 1992 I entered ‘The Good Food Guide’ magazine decorate a cake competition. It was the second time I had entered it and I made it into the final three. The winner would be decided at a demonstration at the Good Food Guide show at the NEC.

I designed and decorated this cake, titled ‘Summer Fun’ which took me to third place in the final behind two more vastly experienced cake decorators.

I actually made this cake twice. Having submitted a photo of my entry to the competition we ate the cake. I then found out I had been selected for the final and needed to display it at the NEC. Fortunately I still had my template with the design on and recreated it again on a polystyrene dummy.

During the competition final I demonstrated to the judges and an audience how to make the children’s hands and faces out of marzipan.

Since this competition I have decorated the odd cake for family occassions but have recently decided to take it more seriously.

