Last Summer I spotted a small but intriguing pot of gold colouring for icing and I had wanted to use it on a cake for some time.  So, with my birthday looming, I decided to treat myself and create a completely gold cake.

The flower design on the cake was inspired by a picture I saw on a birthday card. It is made up of hand cut leaves with individually piped dots around the edge.

I am extremely pleased with how vibrant and shimmering the gold colour came out as well as the even finish that it had.

Although I used this as my birthday cake it would obviously also be suitable for a Golden Wedding Anniversary.

This cake is a 7 inch triple layer sponge and with this design and the gold colouring the price would work out to be £80.

If you’d like me to decorate a similar cake for your special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote.

