I am in training to be a demonstrator for the British Sugar Guild and recently I demonstrated my cake inspired by Maria Theresa’s Dress of the Austrian Royal family at my local branch.

Last year I visited the Hofburg palace in Innsbruck, Austria and was so amazed by it I bought a book about it. The book told the story of Maria Theresa and what she achieved at the palace in the 18th century.  She had many beautiful dresses and there was an exquisite painting of her in one which I chose to inspire this fabulous cake.

I wanted to create a bejewelled cake in extravagent golds and silver and covered in pearls. The side of the cake was designed to reflect the dress bodice and was first covered in edible lace then painted in gold and silver.

Each pearl was hand crafted and coated in a special pearlescent edible powder mixed with dipping solution and others in red or silver. I made a cape for the back of the cake by starting with a red embossed panel painted in gold, and accentuated with gold buttons.

This cake could  be for any special event including silver and gold wedding anniversaries, in fact it could be made into an amazing wedding cake of several tiers that would look fabulous stood on the wedding table.

If you’d like me to decorate a similar cake for a special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote. I am based in Nottingham and can deliver in Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Leicestershire.

