I was really excited about creating a cake for the Wedding Cake competition at Cake International Exhibition at the NEC this month as it was the first time I have entered it. My hard work paid off as I received a Silver Award – a fantastic result.

I decided on a theme of cherubs and hearts for my entry. I loved creating these cute little cherubs with their tiny toes and hands.

They were draped in robes made from icing and tiny flowers were cut in half and attached to their shoulders then brushed with gold.

Two thirds of the cake was highly decorated with the hearts and cherubs but the other third was more simple and gently textured so the overall effect was dynamic in decor and contrast.

The more simple side used a mixture of techniques involving piping, edible lace and painted relief background.

The cake was highlighted with gold columns for the cherubs paradise, delicate roses and topped with 2 cherubs holding edible lace covered hearts.

If you’d like me to decorate a similar cake for a special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote. I am based in Nottingham but will cover Derbyshire, East Midlands.

