Well this is the final ‘Painting on Icing’ out of the trio (for the moment). Another one I will hopefully get around to creating a cake for from my designs…the list is getting longer.

Handpainted poppies on sugarpaste used in a BSG demonstration.

Handpainted poppies on sugarpaste used in a BSG demonstration.

 

Another inspired design from some wallpaper I bought. This was not traced but painted straight on the sugarpaste so the design is only influenced by the wallpaper. Each flower was painted with 2 coates to get the thick colour and the red ones were then painted in edible varnish (which doesn’t show on screen).

The leaves on the wallpaper were totally the wrong shape for poppy leaves so I changed that too.

This would look good and be very effective on a wedding or celebration cake with 3D petal paste poppies on top to finish off.

If you’d like me to decorate a cake in this style for a special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote. Copper Top Cakes is based in Nottingham and delivers to the East Midlands area.

