This cake was designed around a Play Station hand console for a boy who loves playing all varieties of computer games that are available in todays world of new technology and gadgetry.

Square vanilla sponge birthday cake with gaming hand consule, red and black stripes on orange and birthday wishes

Hand Made Modelling Paste Hand Console Cake

Firstly I don’t play computer games so I had to research what a hand console looked like. I basically printed a photo off the internet to the correct size and cut out a template of the shape. After rolling the black modelling paste to the desired height I used the template to cut out the main body of the console then proceeded to rub my fingers around the sharp edges to soften. Creating the handles was a different technique of rolling the modelling paste into a sausage, then reducing one end to a soft point and then cutting out the other end to fit the main body again using the template. This was finished by hand painting all the symbols in edible food colouring.

Birthday Wishes piped on celebration cake in a sans serif font with black royal icing

Birthday Wishes

The square sponge cake is covered in pale orange sugarpaste on which the console sits. Finished off with royal icing piped birthday wishes and black and red stripes to create a striking cake.

If you’d like me to decorate a cake in a bespoke style or something completely different for your special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote. Copper Top Cakes is based in Nottingham and delivers to the East Midlands area. Please feel free to leave me an email or a message and I will always get back to you as soon as possible.

