Another week, another birthday cake, this time I had been asked to decorate a surprise birthday cake for my sister in law. I had been given free reign over the design and I decided to make it very feminine and flowery for her.

I started by cutting out the number 30 to cover with flowers. I made each flower individually by hand and arranged them to fill out the shape of the numbers and once they had hardened I set them in place in the centre of the cake.

To tie in the design I trimmed the edge of the circle with a line of similar tiny flowers and then added a band of larger flowers beneath. Finished off with the ‘Happy Birthday’lettering around the base board.

If you’d like me to decorate a similar cake for your special occasion then please feel free to contact me for a quote.

